To Audrey Hepburn ~ With Love

I logged on this morning and saw the google doodle marking Audrey Hepburn’s 85th birthday. Wish she was still alive and I could write to her and tell her how much I have come to admire her beauty, talent and spirit. I may not have disclosed this secret to many people but I actually am a sucker for vintage movies. Like the black and white 30’s -40’s slow paced ones, with song and dance and pretty sets and costumes. At one point of time TCM was my go to channel specially before going to sleep.

I fell in love with Audrey Hepburn one such day, when I watched A Roman Holiday. (that rhymes :D)

And after that there was no stopping, I watched My Fair Lady, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Sabrina, Funny Face & I still have a lot more to watch.  Audrey was not the most conventional beauty of her times. Infact it was her unconventional looks and her charm that made her so popular. She was not a typical timid and shy actress, she was bold and boisterous and she screamed and pulled faces, which must have been very unladylike in her times but I feel it broke away from the trend and set a new trend. She had so much personality. She was clumsy and goofy and those are the things I love about her the most.

Audrey Hepburn Collage

So because I love Audrey Hepburn so much today I thought I’d pay my tribute to her by sharing a few clips that not most people might have seen. Do take a glimpse and be mesmerized.

Here’s a dance sequence from her movie Funny Face which was way ahead of her times. It was not conventionally pretty, infact it was pretty wild, but it has subtly inspired so many dances in the movie industry that I have seen. When I watch it I feel like freeing myself and dancing like no one’s watching.

 

Here’s a charming video of her with Costume Designer Edith Head. Just the way she speaks and carries herself in all the clothes & those eyes.. So so charming..

Hollywood magic as he calls it, magical indeed. My takeaway from loving and admiring this actress is to “Be the best version of oneself” just absolutely nothing else but that makes the universe embrace and love you. Happy Birthday Audrey  Hepburn! & Happy Sunday to all!

Comments
One Response to “To Audrey Hepburn ~ With Love”
  1. Mili Rajagopal says:

    She’s one of my all time favourites. An amazing actress and one hell of a beauty, she was Givenchy’s muse for over 40 years.Whats even more amazing is that she never changed size over all those years. Will never forget how lovely she looked in My Fair Lady and Breakfast at Tiffanys. Luv u always Audrey.

Leave a Reply

