A Madhubani for a wedding gift

I have recently taken to an old hobby that was forgotten along the way of my designing career. Madhubani or Mithila paintings are an Indian folk art form that was originally practiced by housewives and women in rural Bihar. What I always loved about this art was the vibrant colors and patterns involved. Yes I am a big sucker for anything colorful and bright! I had made a couple of these paintings for our home back in Agra and I also gifted a few to close friends & relatives. But once I moved to Bangalore and work took over my life I almost forgot about this love of mine completely.

But luckily enough I have found plenty of time on my hands since the beginning of this year and coincidentally my brother in law is getting married next week and I really wanted to gift him and his wife something that would mean something and that they could look back at and be reminded of us. That’s how the idea of making a Madhubani painting came into being. I thought of recreating the Ram-Sita wedding scene because it just fits the occasion! 🙂

So I bravely embarked upon this journey and began to sketch my elaborate painting. This is how it came out after I was done sketching it completely.

InstagramCapture_705a01a9-c356-461e-8111-0efcfcd742d0_jpgWhen I was done sketching this out, I knew filling this in was going to be time taking and tedious but I was sort of excited to do it. They say, you know when you love something when you jump out of bed in the morning thinking about getting your handy on it, and this is exactly how I felt.

Two days later, I was able to get this done & it felt great!

1

2

I have to tell you guys this, my childhood Guru who taught me to draw everything from a boat to a human figure was my aunt. She is an artist herself and at times I feel she is much more creative then I can be. She was the one who taught me how to draw these paintings as well. In my summer vacations I would get all my paint brushes and colors and go over to her place to draw and paint and get lost in it for hours in the afternoons.

She used to say something very interesting about Madhubani paintings. When I would try and get all the lines too straight or make the flowers too geometric she would say “Krati, be careful your Madhubani is getting too perfect, it is not supposed to be that way”. She said that the essence of a Madhubani painting is in its imperfection. The rural women who drew these, were not trained painters therefore they didn’t know what symmetry, or perspective or color balance was. They did not follow any such strict principles, which is also why all the figurines in these paintings are drawn in 2D much like how the Egyptians used to draw them. & to be honest this is what I love about these the most. Madhubani is a very forgiving art. No apologies and no mistakes. Just go with the flow & paint on!

Here are a few close-ups for you to binge on..

3

4

5I even proudly signed it with a K.S. as you can see below in the left bottom corner. I was just so happy I could not hide.

6

7By the end of it I realized how I not just completed a painting but also found back an old hobby and oh how rare that feeling is. When you find something you had hidden years ago and you feel exactly how it felt before and how it made you happy. Making these I find not only pleasing but also very meditative. I almost forget all my worries.. Alright I could go on and on. But its a Monday, so Happy Monday!!  Have an inspired week! xo, Krati

8

Comments
2 Responses to “A Madhubani for a wedding gift”
  1. grainspirit says:

    This is really beautiful. Fantastic work. Keep at it! Love.

  2. Nanditha says:

    Hi. This is absolutely gorgeous! Great work!
    I’d just like to know what kind of paint you use for these Madhubani paintings? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

